

Borough of Douglas

Town Hall,

Douglas,

10th May, 2023

At an ANNUAL MEETING of the COUNCIL of the BOROUGH OF DOUGLAS, duly convened and holden at 3.00 p.m. on WEDNESDAY, the 10th day of MAY, 2023, in the COUNCIL CHAMBER, within the TOWN HALL, at which Meeting the following Members were present, that is to say: -

The Mayor

COUNCILLOR MRS NATALIE BYRON-TEARE, JP

Councillors

Mr A.J. Bentley
Mrs C.L. Wells
Mr I.J.G. Clague, MBE
Mr F. Horning
Mr D.R. Watson
Ms J. Thommeny
Mr S.R. Crellin
Mr P.J. Washington
Mr F. Schuengel

The Chief Executive, Director of Finance, Director of Environment and Regeneration and the Assistant Chief Officer (Housing and Property) were in attendance.

Apologies for absence were submitted by Mr Councillor S.R. Pitts, Mr Councillor J.E. Skinner, and the Director of Housing and Property.

1. Chair of Meeting

The retiring Mayor, Councillor Ms J. Thommeny, J.P. took the Chair at the commencement of the meeting.

2. Election of Mayor

Nomination proposed by Mr Councillor S.R. Crellin, seconded by Mr Councillor P.J. Washington, "That Councillor Mrs N.A. Byron-Teare be elected Mayor of the Borough of Douglas for the forthcoming municipal year 2023/24."

Question put on Nomination: a vote was taken electronically, and the Nomination was carried unanimously.

3. **Investiture of Mayor**

Mr Councillor S.R. Crellin and Mr Councillor P.J. Washington communicated the decision of the Council in the matter of the election of Mayor to the Mayor-Elect in the Mayor's Parlour and escorted her into the Council Chamber where the Retiring Mayor invested her with the Mayor's Chain of Office.

4. Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Mayor

The Worshipful the Mayor, Councillor Mrs N.A. Byron-Teare, made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office prescribed under Section 39 of the Elections (Keys and Local Authorities) Act 2020, as follows:

"I, Mrs N.A. Byron-Teare, of 13 Hillside Avenue, Douglas, having been elected Mayor of the Borough of Douglas, for the year commencing the 10th May 2023, hereby declare that I take the said office upon myself and will duly and faithfully fulfil the duties thereof according to the best of my judgement and ability."

The Chief Executive countersigned the declaration as having been made before her.

5. **Appointment of Deputy Mayor**

The Worshipful the Mayor appointed Mr Councillor S.R. Crellin to act as Deputy Mayor and signified the appointment to the Council in the following terms:

"In pursuance of Section 39 of the Elections (Keys and Local Authorities) Act 2020, I hereby appoint Mr Councillor S.R. Crellin to act as Deputy Mayor during my absence."

Resolved unanimously, "That the appointment as Deputy Mayor of Mr Councillor S.R. Crellin be recorded on the minutes."

6. Appointment of Chaplain; Civic Sunday Ceremony

The Worshipful the Mayor informed the Council of the appointment of Monsignor Devine as Mayor's Chaplain during her term of Office, and invited Members and Officers of the Council and other public bodies, together with ratepayers and friends, to accompany her to the Civic Sunday ceremony at St. Mary's Church on Sunday, 17th September, 2023.

7. Vote of Thanks to Retiring Mayor – Councillor Ms J. Thommeny, J.P.

Motion moved by Councillor Mrs C.L. Wells, seconded by Mr Councillor I.J.G. Clague, "That a vote of thanks of the Council be accorded to the Retiring Mayor, Councillor Ms J. Thommeny for her exemplary services as Mayor of the Borough."

Question put on Motion; a vote was taken electronically, and the Motion was carried unanimously.

Councillor Ms J. Thommeny suitably replied.

8. Suspension of Business, Appointments of Mayor's Consort and Deputy Mayoress

The Worshipful the Mayor suspended the business of the meeting whilst she presented Mr A. Teare, as Mayor's Consort, and Mrs S. Crellin as Deputy Mayoress, with their respective badges of office.

9. **Minutes – 12th April, 2023**

Minutes of monthly Council meeting held on Wednesday, 12th April, 2023 were approved and signed.

10. **Minutes – 28th April, 2023**

Minutes of special Council meeting held on Friday, 28th April, 2023 were approved and signed.

The Council rose at 3.35pm.

For the Town Clerk & Chief Executive