

Borough of Douglas

Town Hall,

Douglas,

Ms J. Thommeny

12th August, 2020

At a MEETING of the COUNCIL of the BOROUGH OF DOUGLAS, duly convened and holden at 2.30 p.m. on WEDNESDAY, the 12th day of AUGUST, 2020, in the COUNCIL CHAMBER, within the TOWN HALL, at which Meeting the following Members were present, that is to say: -

The Mayor

MR COUNCILLOR JONATHAN JOUGHIN, JP

Councillors

Miss N.A. Byron Mr A.J. Bentley
Mrs H. Callow Mr F. Horning
Mr S.R. Pitts Mr R.H. McNicholl
Mrs R. Chatel Ms K. Angela
Mr I.J.G. Clague, MBE Mrs E.C. Quirk

Mrs C.E. Crawley

Mr D.W. Christian, MBE, JP

Apologies for absence were submitted by Councillor Mrs C.L. Wells, Mr Councillor J.E. Skinner and the Director of Housing and Property.

The Chief Executive, Director of Finance, Director of Environment and Regeneration and the Assistant Chief Officer (Housing and Property) were in attendance.

1. Minute Silence

The Council observed a one minute silence as a mark of respect for Freeman of the Borough Mr. I.A. Faragher, who recently passed away.

2. **Minutes – 8th July, 2020**

The minutes of the monthly Council meeting held on Wednesday, 8th July, 2020, were approved and signed.

3. Executive Committee – 24th July, 2020

Motion moved by Mr Councillor D.W. Christian, seconded by Mr Councillor R.H. McNicholl, "That the minutes of proceedings of the Executive Committee, as contained in report of meeting held on Friday, 24th July, 2020, be received by the Council."

Question put on Motion, a vote was taken electronically, and there voted **For** the Motion, Councillors; Miss N.A. Byron, Mrs H. Callow, Mr S.R. Pitts, Mrs R. Chatel, Mr I.J.G Clague, Mr D.W. Christian, Mrs C.E. Crawley, Mr A.J. Bentley, Mr F. Horning, Ms K. Angela, Mrs E.C. Quirk, Ms J. Thommeny, the Mayor – **13**

Against; Mr Councillor R.H. McNicholl - 1

Motion carried.

4. Eastern District Civic Amenity Site Joint Committee – 9th July, 2020

Motion moved by Mr Councillor R.H. McNicholl, seconded by Mr Councillor F. Horning, "That the minutes of proceedings of the Eastern District Civic Amenity Site Joint Committee, as contained in report of meeting held on Thursday, 9th July, 2020, be received by the Council."

Question put on Motion, a vote was taken electronically, and the Motion was carried unanimously.

5. Housing Committee – 15th July, 2020 – Clauses A1 to A8

Motion moved by Councillor Mrs C.E. Crawley, seconded Councillor Mrs E.C. Quirk, "That the minutes of proceedings of the Housing Committee, as contained in Clauses A1 to A8 inclusive of report of meeting held on Wednesday, 15th July, 2020, be received by the Council."

Question put on Motion, a vote was taken electronically, and the Motion was carried unanimously.

6. Housing Committee – 15th July, 2020 – Clause C9

Motion moved by Councillor Mrs C.E. Crawley, seconded Councillor Mrs E.C. Quirk, "That the minutes of proceedings of the Housing Committee, as contained in Clause C9 of report of meeting held on Wednesday, 15th July, 2020, be received, approved and adopted by the Council."

Question put on Motion, a vote was taken electronically, and the Motion was carried unanimously.

7. Regeneration and Community Committee – 14th July, 2020

Motion moved by Mr Councillor S.R. Pitts, seconded by Councillor Mrs H. Callow, "That the minutes of proceedings of the Regeneration and Community Committee, as contained in report of meeting held on Tuesday, 14th July, 2020, be received by the Council."

Question put on Motion, a vote was taken electronically, and the Motion was carried unanimously.

8. Environmental Services Committee – 13th July, 2020

Motion moved by Mr Councillor R.H. McNicholl, seconded by Mr Councillor F. Horning, "That the minutes of proceedings of the Environmental Services Committee, as contained in report of meeting held on Monday, 13th July, 2020, be received by the Council."

Question put on Motion, a vote was taken electronically, and the Motion was carried unanimously.

9. Adjournment and Resumption

The meeting adjourned at 3.40pm and resumed at 4.00pm. Councillor Mrs R. Chatel submitted apologies for the remainder of the meeting.

IN PRIVATE

10. Executive Committee – 24th July, 2020

Motion moved by Mr Councillor D.W. Christian, seconded by Mr Councillor R.H. McNicholl, "That the minutes of proceedings of the Executive Committee, as contained in private report of meeting held on Friday, 24th July, 2020, be received by the Council."

Question put on Motion, a vote was taken electronically, and the Motion was carried unanimously.

11. Eastern District Civic Amenity Site Joint Committee – 9th July, 2020

Motion moved by Mr Councillor R.H. McNicholl, seconded by Mr Councillor F. Horning, "That the minutes of proceedings of the Eastern District Civic Amenity Site Joint Committee, as contained in private report of meeting held on Thursday, 9th July, 2020, be received by the Council."

Question put on Motion, a vote was taken electronically, and the Motion was carried unanimously.

12. Regeneration and Community Committee – 14th July, 2020

Motion moved by Mr Councillor S.R. Pitts, seconded by Councillor Mrs H. Callow, "That the minutes of proceedings of the Regeneration and Community Committee, as contained in private report of meeting held on Tuesday, 14th July, 2020, be received by the Council."

Question put on Motion, a vote was taken electronically, and the Motion was carried unanimously.

13. Environmental Services Committee – 13th July, 2020

Motion moved by Mr Councillor R.H. McNicholl, seconded by Mr Councillor F. Horning, "That the minutes of proceedings of the Environmental Services Committee, as contained in private report of meeting held on Monday, 13th July, 2020, be received by the Council."

Question put on Motion, a vote was taken electronically, and the Motion was carried unanimously.

The Council rose at 4.10pm.

Town Clerk & Chief Executive

Lehrendrie