

# **Borough of Douglas**

Town Hall,

Douglas,

11<sup>th</sup> August, 2021

At an ANNUAL MEETING of the COUNCIL of the BOROUGH OF DOUGLAS, duly convened and holden at 3.00 p.m. on WEDNESDAY, the 11<sup>th</sup> day of AUGUST, 2021, in the COUNCIL CHAMBER, within the TOWN HALL, at which Meeting the following Members were present, that is to say: -

## The Mayor

## MRS RAINA CHATEL, JP

## Councillors

Miss N.A. Byron	Ms J. Thommeny
Mr S.R. Pitts	Mr P.J. Washington
Mr A.J. Bentley	Mr S.R. Crellin
Mr I.J.G. Clague, MBE	Mr F. Schuengel
Mr D.R. Watson	Mrs C.L. Wells

Mr F. Horning

Apologies for absence were submitted by the Chief Executive and Mr Councillor J.E. Skinner.

The Director of Finance (as Acting Chief Executive), the Director of Environment and Regeneration and the Director of Housing and Property were in attendance.

#### 1. Chair of Meeting

The retiring Mayor, Mr Councillor J. Joughin, J.P. took the Chair at the commencement of the meeting.

#### 2. Election of Mayor

Nomination proposed by Mr Councillor I.J.G. Clague, seconded by Mr Councillor S.R. Pitts, "That Mrs R. Chatel be elected Mayor of the Borough of Douglas for the forthcoming municipal year 2021-2022."

Question put on Nomination: a vote was taken electronically, and the Nomination was carried unanimously.

### 3. **Investiture of Mayor**

Mr Councillor I.J.G. Clague and Mr Councillor S.R. Pitts communicated the decision of the Council in the matter of the election of Mayor to the Mayor-Elect in the Mayor's Parlour and escorted her into the Council Chamber where the Retiring Mayor invested her with the Mayor's Chain of Office.

#### 4. Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Mayor

The Worshipful the Mayor, Mrs R. Chatel, made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office prescribed under Section 10 of the Local Elections Act, 1986, as follows:

"I, Mrs Raina Chatel, of The Blossoms, 4 The Esplanade, Douglas, having been elected Mayor of the Borough of Douglas, for the year commencing the 11<sup>th</sup> August 2021, hereby declare that I take the said office upon myself and will duly and faithfully fulfil the duties thereof according to the best of my judgement and ability."

The Acting Chief Executive countersigned the declaration as having been made before him.

#### 5. **Appointment of Deputy Mayor**

The Worshipful the Mayor appointed Councillor Ms J. Thommeny to act as Deputy Mayor and signified the appointment to the Council in the following terms:

"In pursuance of Schedule 2 of the Local Elections Act 1986, as substituted by the Douglas Corporation Act 1988, I hereby appoint Councillor Ms J. Thommeny to act as Deputy Mayor during my illness or absence."

Resolved unanimously, "That the appointment as Deputy Mayor of Councillor Ms J. Thommeny be recorded on the minutes."

#### 6. Appointment of Chaplain; Civic Sunday Ceremony

The Worshipful the Mayor informed the Council of the appointment of the Reverend Doctor Michael Brydon as Mayor's Chaplain during her term of Office, and invited Members and Officers of the Council and other public bodies, together with ratepayers and friends, to accompany her to the Civic Sunday ceremony at St. George's Church on Sunday, 12<sup>th</sup> September, 2021.

## 7. Vote of Thanks to Retiring Mayor – Mr Councillor J. Joughin

Motion moved by Councillor Mrs C.L. Wells, seconded by Mr Councillor S.R. Pitts, "That a vote of thanks of the Council be accorded to the Retiring Mayor, Mr Councillor J. Joughin, for his exemplary services as Mayor of the Borough."

Question put on Motion; a vote was taken electronically, and the Motion was carried unanimously.

Mr Councillor J. Joughin suitably replied.

## 8. Suspension of Business, Appointments of Mayoress and Deputy Mayoress

The Worshipful the Mayor suspended the business of the meeting whilst she presented Mrs Deidre Chatel, as Mayoress, and Councillor Miss N.A Byron as Deputy Mayoress, with their respective badges of office.

## 9. **Minutes – 14<sup>th</sup> July, 2021**

Minutes of the monthly Council meeting held on Wednesday, 14<sup>th</sup> July, 2021 were approved and signed.

The Council rose at 3.40pm.

For the Town Clerk & Chief Executive