You are here:Home > Info > Mayoralty


In 1891 some 35 per cent of the Manx population was living in Douglas, placing additional demands on the town. The Douglas Municipal Corporation Act of 1895 provided for the election of 18 councillors for the town’s six wards with six aldermen elected by the councillors. This legislation enabled the formation of the Municipal Borough of Douglas in 1896. The first Mayor of Douglas was Alderman Thomas Keig JP, a cabinet maker and amateur astronomer who helped pioneer photography in the Island. Since then 88 men and women have served the Borough as Mayor. 


140423-DBC-028 worked on - white background - Copy


Councillor Byron was first elected to the Council in 2016, re-elected to Douglas Central in 2021. Having served as Deputy Mayoress from 2019 to 2022, and serving as Deputy Mayor for 2023/23, Councillor Byron is keen to serve the people of Douglas to her full potential over the next twelve months.


The Mayor will be supported by her Deputy Mayor Mr Councillor Steven Crellin,  with her husband Andy supporting as Consort, and Mrs Samantha Crellin as Deputy Mayoress.


Serving as Mayor’s Chaplain will be Reverend Monsignor John Devine, Dean of the Catholic Church in the Isle of Man.


The Mayor looks forward to working together to build relationships and bring a passion to the promotion of Douglas.


She intends to work closely with different communities, and to help and support third section organisations within the community.


Her theme for the year in office is Community and Charity – two aspects of life that the Mayor believes rely heavily on each other to survive. 


Her chosen charities for the year as the RNLI, Live at Home Scheme and the IOM Parrot Sanctuary.


Last modified on Wednesday, 10 May 2023 16:42